Getting my feet back in the Dating Game

Or maybe a better title would be “Getting started in the Dating Game”.

I’ve never really dated. When I look back now its a little bit of a shame but ‘Tis what it is. I’m not sure why I’ve not really ever dated. I’m a little scared to say that it might have been because I was scared, but I’m thinking that’s probably what it was.

After my relationship of 9 years ended I didn’t really have a clue what I was doing, I didn’t know where to start and it wasn’t really something I thought about starting. Dating apps were just coming to life then and my single friends were all over it but it just wasn’t for me. They were always trying to get me to date or go speed dating.. “C’mon, its fun” They’d say. But to me I might aswell have stuck a post it note on my head with the words “I’m desperate” written across  it in big bold writing. It wasn’t for me and I was happy to carry on, enjoy my time alone and make up for my lost youth.
I’m not saying I didn’t ever date but I just didn’t get the experience which would probably help me out ALOT right about now.
I did have this one date which I will always remember. His name was Simon (He’s that great that I’m not even going to change his name), I sometimes wonder if he fell in love with me at first sight. Anyway, the date was fabulous, he was fabulous. Maybe too fabulous..who knows?! But I ran a mile. I ran and ran and kept running until I ended up in Australia 3 years later talking to him and telling him I was finally ready for him. Because obviously he’d clearly been sitting at home waiting for me to say those words. As you can imagine, it didn’t work out that way.

Now fast forward 6 years. I’ve reached the time when this being alone malarky really isn’t playing cool now. I’m bored, I want to feel special and I want to share sundays with someone. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not just about to give my heart to someone who doesn’t float my boat “Just because”. I’m still waiting on the right one but I wish he’d bloody hurry up.
So let’s talk about it from since I’ve returned home. There has been a D, he ended up quite literally being a D. I wouldn’t put him high on the list of D’s but he’s somewhere in the middle. Then there is Mr Interview. Seems he might be another D but one I wouldn’t mind playing with if I’m honest. And more recently is Richie Rich. I’m pretty certain Richie has a big wallet, I’m not a gold digger but every woman wants a Prince so might aswell give him a shot. Oh, and he doesn’t know that I know he’s possibly wealthy. I’m a top ninja when it comes to Social Media stalking.
These will be my subjects over the next few days, weeks or even months as I’m about to jump head first into the world of Dating!! Wish me luck

C xx

Leave a Reply

