Introducing D

We’re not going to talk about this one much more (if ever) after this post. But if you are going to follow my adventures in the dating game then I feel you should be told about anyone who I welcomed into my life after my return home from the other side of the world. So, unfortunately this means hearing all about Man number 1.

Before I start, I need to make you all very aware that I do not usually let men into my heart. I don’t know why, and I can’t explain why my brain sends these messages to my heart. All I know is that if I can find a problem to help me avoid this situation then I shall find it. Even if it’s that they don’t tie their shoelaces correctly! However, I came back with a fresh heart and a fresh head and I’m putting myself through the struggle of forgetting the issues and just going for it :-/

Okay.. D.. This was an odd one. I downloaded this cool app that lets you match with people who you’ve passed and if you like each other then you can chat.
I was on my way home from a friends one night when I found myself stopping in the middle of the road because an old fragile man had fallen outside of a shop and no one was helping him. It took me a while to register that he was the local drunk and clearly all the help in the world wouldn’t help him. I was brought out of this frenzy by a giant red truck beeping its horn and asking me to move along. The giant red truck was of course a fire engine so in a fluster I moved along and at the following traffic lights I had a few flirty smiles and a wave (oh wait, the wave was me).
I got home checked the app and low and behold in front of me was what seemed like a fireman. We’d crossed paths at the traffic lights where I’d been eye flirting with 5 or more men in uniforms. So, of course.. he must be one of them right?? I clicked like, we matched, he messaged, we chatted non stop for weeks.

I find out he wasn’t one of the firemen. I often wonder if I’d have clicked the button if I’d have known this, but then we wouldn’t have this story to tell either.

A few weeks down the line, we’re getting on great. Still haven’t met but its inevitable that it’s going to happen. I’m having a few drinks out with a friend one night and he lets me know he is in the bar next door. Would have been rude to not say hello. So off we trot. My first initial reaction was that he wasn’t my type. He was skinny, I didn’t particularly like his attire and he was so embarrassed that I then started feeling uncomfortable. The bar was rammed, couldn’t move and couldn’t even get a drink so we all decide to head somewhere else. 4 hours later we’ve all had a little too much to drink, we’re dancing in a nightclub and we’re all thinking its time to go home.
Next day we talk about headaches and how we’re too old to be behaving like that and agree we should meet properly, without the alcohol. A week or so passes and we do. His personality was just spot on. I would never fault that and I think that was the reason I was starting to find him quite attractive. We went for coffee, then for a drink, we laughed all afternoon and he then asked if he could see me again the next day.. Winner!

Facebook says he lost his phone. Which I believe. But he never got back to me about the next day. Later the next day I bump into him at one of night spots of Bristol. He used the word stalker I’m guessing about 8 or 9 times. First 3 were funny, then not so funny, then really actually quite irritating so I left him to fall out of the door drunk a few hours later whilst I was enjoying my time on the dance floor with my friend.

4 or 5 days passed and I’m questioning what happened but learning to deal with another one biting the dust. Then, out of the blue appears a message apologizing for his behavior, letting me know everything went wrong and that he’d message me properly after work.

I never got the follow up. He definitely got deleted though and we will never know what happened.

Why did I tell you this?? Well.. this is my life. I question whether I don’t put in enough effort, or if I put in too much effort. I’m not so upset about the rejection. What bothers me is the follow ups. No message means I get the message. So why message to confuse the message? Females are constantly told they read in to everything. If you didn’t give us anything to read then you’d make your lives a whole lot easier.
Confused?? I am!

Here’s to the next..
C xx

 

 

Leave a Reply

